Tuesday, January 29, 2008

The Phoenix Award 2008 Winners

The Children's Literature Association gives out "The Phoenix Award" each year to "the author, or the estate of the author, of a book for children published originally in English that did not win a major award at the time of its publication twenty years earlier." It's named after the phoenix bird that "rose from the ashes with renewed life and beauty".

The winner of this year's Phoenix Award is:
by Peter Dickinson
Delacorte, 1988

This year's honor book is:
The Devil's Arithmetic
by Jane Yolen
Viking, 1988

I recently read about Jane Yolen's honor on her website, but just received the flier in the mail today about the 2008 winner.

No comments: